COFFEE BEANS


The coffee trees are tropical shrubs of the genus Coffea of the family Rubiaceae. The species Coffea arabica and Coffea canephora (or robusta coffee) are those used in the beverage preparation.

Coffee is the second most traded commodity worldwide, behind oil. It is estimated that 125 million people living in the coffee sector, including 25 million small producers. 400 billion cups of coffee are drunk each year, about 12 000 cups per second !

For several years the annual world production exceeds 100 million bags (120 million in 2002, 102 million in 2003) which corresponds to 6 to 7 million tonnes, while in 1825 it produced only 100 000 tonnes. Over 80 million bags were exported each year (88 million in 2002, 84 million in 2003).

The largest producer by far is Brazil, particularly the State of São Paulo which is the first port of the coffee in the world: the port of Santos, followed by Vietnam (the largest producer of robusta) and Colombia.

In Madagascar, coffee is one of the main resources of the country and ranks third in agricultural exports in foreign currency inflow from vanilla and crustaceans. Both Arabica and Robusta species are present but robusta is by far the most product.

Société Kalfane Fils - 37, rue Richelieu - B.P : 171 - Mahajanga (401) - Madagascar
Tel : +261 2062 22848 / +261 2062 22849 - Fax : +261 2062 23672 / +261 2062 23937
E-mail : info@sokafis.mg

Café


Les caféiers sont des arbustes des régions tropicales du genre Coffea de la famille des Rubiacées. Les espèces Coffea arabica et Coffea canephora (ou caféier robusta), sont celles qui servent à la préparation de la boisson.

Le café est la seconde marchandise échangée dans le monde, derrière le pétrole. On estime à 125 millions le nombre de personnes vivant de la caféiculture, incluant 25 millions de petits producteurs. 400 milliards de tasses de café sont bues par an, soit environ 12 000 tasses par seconde !

Depuis plusieurs années, la production mondiale annuelle dépasse les 100 millions de sacs (120 millions en 2002, 102 millions en 2003) ce qui correspond à 6 à 7 millions de tonnes, alors qu'en 1825, on ne produisait que 100 000 tonnes. Plus de 80 millions de sacs sont exportés chaque année (88 millions en 2002, 84 millions en 2003).

Le plus gros producteur est de loin le Brésil, particulièrement l'État de São Paulo où se situe le premier port caféier du monde : le port de Santos, suivi par le Viêt Nam (le plus important producteur de robusta) et la Colombie.

A Madagascar, le café constitue une des principales ressources du pays et occupe la troisième place des produits agricoles exportés en entrée de devises après la vanille et les crustacées. Les deux espèces Arabica et Robusta sont présentes mais le Robusta est de loin le plus produit.

Société Kalfane Fils - 37, rue Richelieu - B.P : 171 - Mahajanga (401) - Madagascar
Tel : +261 2062 22848 / +261 2062 22849 - Fax : +261 2062 23672 / +261 2062 23937
E-mail : info@sokafis.mg